Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
the keys to english

Various Functions

Mrs Salih

Giving Opinion

  • In my opinion .....................
  • As far as I'm concerned ...........
  • From my point of view,.............
  • As I see it .......................
  • I think ...........................
  • In my view ........................
  • It seems to me that................
  • I feel ............................
  • I believe .........................

Agreeing with an opinion

  • I agree with this idea.
  • I agree completely with this idea.
  • I agree.
  • This idea is absolutely right.
  • I think this idea is perfect.

Disagreeing with an opinion

  • I think it is a bad idea.
  • I'm afraid I can't agree with this idea.
  • I'm afraid I entirely disagree with you.
  • I think this idea is impossible.
  • I think it is a bad idea.
  • I don't agree with this idea.

Asking about preference

Do you prefer tea or coffee?

Would you prefer tea or coffee?

Would you rather milk or Orange Juice?

Which would you prefer? Doing homework or watching TV?

Which would you rather, this bike or that one?

Would you prefer to stay here?

Would you rather have a drink?

Expressing Preference

I prefer tea (to coffee).

I'd prefer to have coffee.

I'd rather have tea.

EXAMPLES

I prefer doing my homework to watching television.

I'd prefer to go out than to stay with you.

I'd rather go to bed than see that boring film.

I'd prefer to sleep.

I'd rather sleep.

I N V I T I N G

  • I'm going to my uncle's wedding party next Sunday. Would you like to come, too?
  • Come along!
  • Why don't you come?
  • Will you come, too?
  • You must come over?
  • You must pay us a visit.

Accepting the invitation

  • Ok. I'd like to!
  • Well, I'm free then. Thank you. I'd like to come.
  • Well, I'm not doing anything then. I’ll come. Thanks.

Refusing the invitation

  • I'm afraid I can't. I'm busy then.
  • I'm sorry but I can't. I'm going somewhere.

Expressing Likes:

  • I like Couscous.
  • I enjoy eating couscous.
  • I love couscous.
  • I adore eating couscous.
  • I'm fond of couscous.

Expressing Dislikes:

  • I hate pizza.
  • I don't like pizza.
  • I can't bear pizza.
  • I can't stand pizza.
  • I dislike pizza.
  • I detest pizza.

Exercises

Match the sentences with the right function.

  1. As I see it, things are getting worse. a. Invitation
  2. I'd rather have a cup of coffee. b. disagreement
  3. Would you like me to carry those cases for you? c. preference
  4. I can't agree more. d. opinion

Choose the correct function.

1) May I have a look at your magazine, please?

a. Advice b. Request c. Permission d. Opinion

2) As far I'm concerned, Love is all that we need to live in peace.

a. Request b. Opinion c. Advice d. Permission

3) I can't agree more.

a. agreement b. disagreement c. preference d. offer

4) Can I have a glass of milk, please?

a. Permission b. Opinion c. Advice d. Request

5) Can I use your pen, please?

a. Request b. Permission c. Advice d. Opinion

6) I'd rather have a cup of coffee.

a. agreement b. disagreement c. preference d. offer

7) You must abide by the law.

a. Prohibition b. Obligation c.agreement d.preference

8) You mustn't drive fast in town.

a. Prohibition b. Obligation c. advice d.permission

Partager cet article

Repost0

Commenter cet article